Essence

orange-sunrise-dandelions-free-desktop-wallpaper-1920x1200

I have admired the Sun,
I have cherished the stars.
But I have never known
a light like yours.

I have never known such love.

When the earth turned cold
and the wind stayed still,
your eyes were warm.

Do you remember, you’d ask.

Do you remember
the way that we looked
across and beyond
the solitary sea
and how we breathed
so perfectly
in harmony.

Like nothing could tear
the magic apart.

I have never known
a light so luminous
like the one in your heart.

I have never known such love.

And the way it never needs
or craves approval.

Do you remember, I’d say.

Do you remember
the day that I gave
my sadness away,
the day that your flame
had ignited
mine.

Like darkness had never
existed at all.

Like beauty could grow
only after rain.

Like love had been healing
all of the pain.

And I was free of the burden
of judging myself
and all my mistakes.

I have never known
a love so pure.

So deep and giving.

I have never known
a love so true.

So kind and forgiving.

All I know,
it’s the essence of you.

Share Your Thoughts

